Modern Language Association (MLA) Guide: Articles and other Short Work

Basic Format for an Article or Other Short Work

A. Print

B. Web

C. Database

If a database provides a DOI or a permalink, use that at the end of your citation. If it provides only a URL that is long and complicated and if your readers may not be able to access it, your instructor may allow you to use the URL for the database home page. Check with your instructor.

Article in a Journal

A. Print

B. Online Journal

C. Database

Article in a Magazine

Article in a Newspaper

If the city of a publication is not obvious from the title of the newspaper, include the city in brackets after the newspaper title. (See No Author List)

Editorial

Cite as a source with no author (See No Author Listed) and use the label "Editorial" at the end (and before any database information).

Letter to the Editor

Use the label "Letter" at the end of the entry (and before any database information). If the letter has no title, place the label directly after the author's name.

Comment on an Online Article

For the use of a screen name and real name (if known), see Author Using A Pseudonym entry. After the name, include "Comment on" followed by the title of the article and the publication information of the article.

Book Review

Name the reviewer and the title of the review, if any, followed by "Review of" and the title and author of the work reviewed. Add publication information for the publication in which the review appears. If the review has no author and no title, begin with "Review of" and alphabetize the entry by the first principal word in the title of the work reviewed.

Film Review or Other Review

Name the reviewer and the title of the review, if any, followed by "Review of" and the title and the writer or director of the work reviewed. Add publication information for the publication in which the review appears. If the review has no author and not title, begin with "Review of" and alphabetize the entry by the first principal word in the title of the work reviewed.

Performance Review

Name the reviewer and the title of the review, if any, followed by "Review of" and the title of the work reviewed. After the title, add the author or director of the work, if relevant. Add publication information for the publication in which the review appears. If the review has no author or no title, begin with "Review of" and alphabetize by the first principle word in the title of the work reviewed.

Interview

Begin with the person interviewed, followed by the title of the interview (if there is one). If the interview does not have a title, include the word "Interview" after the interviewee's name. If you wish to include the name of the interviewer, put it after the title of the interview.

Article in a Dictionary or an Encyclopedia (Including a Wiki)

List the author of the entry (if there is one), the title of the entry, and the publication information for the reference work. Include page numbers for a print source as you would a selection in a collection (see One Selection from an Anthology or a Collection).

Letter in a Collection

A. Print Begin with the writer of the letter, the words "Letter to" and the recipient, and the date of the letter. Add the title of the collection and other publication information. Add page range at the end.

B. Web After information about the letter writer, recipient, and date (if known), give the name of the website or archive, italicized; the publisher of the site; and the URL.