LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Open Educational Resources

The CVCC Library Hours of Operation
Monday	8:00am - 8:00pm
Tuesday	8:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday	8:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday	8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday	8:00am - 2:30pm
Saturday	CLOSED
Sunday	CLOSED
Holidays	CLOSED

Check the NEWS AND MESSAGES section on the Home Tab of the library's online catalog for changes or additional closures or check the library's online calendar listed on our online catalog or our Owen Hall guide.

Resources for Students

Blueprint for Success in College and Career
A free, Open Educational Resource, Blueprint for Success in College and Career is a students' guide for classroom and career success.
Learning to Learn Online
Learning to Learn Online was created by students to help ease the shift from a traditional classroom setting to an online environment.

Mason OER Search

You can also use the George Mason OER Metafinder to search in real-time.

Multimedia OERs

OER Commons
A place to find and share open educational resources. OER Commons was created to provide support for and to build a knowledge base around the use and reuse of open educational resources.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We’ve also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.
TED Talks
TED is a nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks.
MOOC List
Free Online Courses from Coursera, edX, FUN, FutureLearn, Miríada X, OpenClassrooms and other Top Providers and Universities in a wide range of categories and subjects.
HippoCampus
Explore over 8,600 free videos in 13 subject areas
Digital Public Library of America
Links to libraries, archives, and museums. Includes photographs, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, and artwork.
Open Culture
Links to a/v resources from other sites.

Books

Cornell Open
New and out-of-print titles from Cornell University Press. Anthropology, classics, German studies, literary criticism, political science, Slavic studies, and women's studies.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. Contains 43,230 academic peer-reviewed books from 623 publishers.
epubBooks
Contains free public domain eBooks that you can download in the EPUB format.
Google Books
Previews and full-text of books. Full-text books are going to be books that are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. The Digital Library is a repository providing access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Internet Archive: E-Books and Texts Archive
The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
JSTOR Open Access Books
From university presses. Over 600 books from El Colegio de México.
OAPEN
Based in the Netherlands. Work with publishers (many are university presses). Languages other than English. Primarily Social Sciences, Humanities; also Business, Law, Science.
Open Library
Primarily a large book catalog, it is a project of the Internet Archive. The interface connects you to scanned versions of books from the Internet Archive and connects you to other places to find the books in print.
Open Research Library (ORL)
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 14,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
Project GutenBerg
Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Project MUSE Open Access
From university presses. Search through the library's Project MUSE platform to locate.
Universal Digital Library
Provides access eBooks in a number of different subject areas, languages, and formats.

Textbooks

The American Institute of Mathematics
A list below groups open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.
BCcampusOpenEd
From British Columbia. Peer Reviewed. Includes instructor resources. Arts, Business, Education, Health, Law, Sciences, Social Sciences, and even some trades. Contains a Faculty OER Toolkit.
Bookboon
Bookboon's free online textbooks for students are focused and to the point. They are all written by highly respected professors from top universities in the world and cover topics such as economics, statistics, IT, engineering and natural science. Download free eBooks and textbooks.
Free Tech Books
Database of Free / Open Access Online Computer Science Books, Textbooks, and Lecture Notes
(1208 books and growing)
LibreText
From University of California Davis. Contains interactive visualizations and 3D models. Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Engineering, Medicine.
Lyryx
Lyryx offers open texts and resources for business, economics, and mathematics and statistics. They have partnered with OpenStax to provide their educational software to pair with their open texts in mathematics, statistics, and accounting.
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

The SUNY Community textbooks series is a venue for SUNY faculty to share their already published openly licensed educational material. The work highlighted in this series have a variety of publishers, but are all:
- authored by a SUNY faculty member
- full courses or texts to be used in a college-level course
- original work, or a significant remix or adaptation of another open work.
- licensed with a Creative Commons license, with no ND designation
Open Stax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
And backed by additional learning resources.
Open Textbook Library
Indexes books from universities such as Clemson, CalPoly, and Colorado State. Business, Math, Science, Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, Engineering, Law.
Open Textbooks Pilot Program
The Open Textbooks Pilot program supports projects at eligible institutions of higher education that create new open textbooks and expand the use of open textbooks in courses that are part of a degree-granting program, particularly those with high enrollments. This pilot program emphasizes the development of projects that demonstrate the greatest potential to achieve the highest level of savings for students through sustainable, expanded use of open textbooks in high-enrollment courses or in programs that prepare individuals for in-demand fields.
OpenTextbookStore
Books are free. Primarily mathematics.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
The open textbooks include several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012.
Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE)
A resource from Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE) at University of Tennessee Knoxville. Please scroll down on the page to see the available open textbooks.
Washington 45
Textbooks for courses in Washington. General education English, math, arts, sciences, and history.

Educational Resources & Courseware

Alabama OER Commons
The Alabama OER Commons is a place for Alabama educators, students, and the general public to find and share free educational resources.

We aim to bring together in one location some of the most useful OER textbooks and other materials available, and also to provide a central location for OER that are “made in Alabama” - original creations, as well as OER that have been adapted or remixed to fit the needs of Alabama students and residents.

The Alabama OER Commons is sponsored by the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).
Amara
Amara's award-winning technology enables you to caption and subtitle any video for free. If you are using videos in your classes, this will help make them more accessible.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER)
CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources. We provide a community and resources to learn about the evolving practice of open education.
Community of Online Research Assignments (CORA)
Research assignments and teaching toolkits. Sponsored by Loyola Marymount University Library.
Cool4ED
California Open Online Library for Education. Textbooks, course materials, courses, and journals. All subjects.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
Open textbooks and materials from Georgia. Business, Sciences, Social Sciences, Education, Engineering, Fine Arts, Foreign Languages, Philosophy.
MERLOT
Curated online learning and support materials. International community of educators, learners and researchers. Can create course portfolios. All subjects.
MIT Open Courseware
Massachusetts Institute of Technology-Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
OER-Creative Commons
Provides helpful information on finding OER, including photos and images, videos, and recorded lectures and video tutorials.
OER Adoption Impact Calculator
The OER Adoption Impact Calculator helps you understand many of the potential impacts of adopting OER instead of traditionally copyrighted learning materials.
OER Commons
A place to find and share open educational resources. OER Commons was created to provide support for and to build a knowledge base around the use and reuse of open educational resources.
Open Access Directory (OAD)
The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
Open Course Library
From Washington State University, is a collection of expertly developed educational materials – including textbooks, syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments – for 81 high-enrollment college courses. 42 courses have been completed so far, providing faculty with a high-quality, affordable option that will cost students no more than $30 for textbooks.
Open Educational Resources (OER) by Subject: Counseling & Learning Skills
A resource guide from Skyline College Library at Skyline College, a California community college.
Open Humanities Press (OHP)
OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. They have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.
SkillsCommons
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The $1.9 billion investment by the US Department of Labor produced a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation. The OER can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by an individual, institution, and industry for FREE with the proper attribution to the original author of the resources.
Smithsonian Open Access
Smithsonian Open Access allows users to download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images. Users have access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from Smithsonian collections, which includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
UNC Greensboro OER by Subject
Lists individual repositories for 28 subject areas.
WikiEducator
A community project working collaboratively with the Free Culture Movement towards a free version of the education curriculum by 2015. Driven by the learning for development agenda WikiEducator is developing free content for use in schools, polytechnics, universities, vocational education institutions and informal education settings.
World Digital Library (WDL)
Available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

OASIS Search

You can quickly search OASIS, the Openly Available Sources Integrated Search, from SUNY.

OASIS has collected over 155,000 records from 52 different sources. The sources include the usual textbooks and course materials, but it also indexes audiobooks, interactive simulations, and podcasts.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a “community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.”
Elsevier - Open Access Journals
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
Journals@MTSU
Journals@MTSU is built on the Open Journal Systems (OJS) journal management software by the PKP and is designed to facilitate the development of open access, peer-reviewed publishing.

Walker Library offers free journal hosting services to members of the Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) community. All of the journals we service are digital and open access—free to author and read online. Walker Library's Digital Scholarship Initiatives established this journal hosting program to meet the needs and support the mission, values and vision of the university.
OMICS Online
OMICS International is a scientific organization that promotes open access for relevant scientific information and research findings. About 700 open access scientific journals are handled by more than 50000 editorial board members who belong to both academic and industrial circles in all aspects of Science, Engineering, Management and Technology journals. A collaboration set up recently with 1000 international societies would provide a window to wider knowledge-base of worldwide open access health-related information. As part of its drive to boost knowledge-sharing through real-time interaction, this open access group has been organizing over 1000 world-class scientific conferences at global venues through the calendar year.
The Open Access Journals
The Open Access Journals was founded with a mission to develop a reliable platform and to provide unrestricted access to scientific literature for rapid dissemination of recent updates in various disciplines of science and technology. Readers can have access with no cost and avail the facility to enrich their scientific understanding in the relevant topics.
Open Library of Humanities (OLH)
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). All of their academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
Science Direct
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
Springer Open Journals
SpringerOpen journal portfolio includes peer-reviewed, fully open access journals across all areas of science. It ranges from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, our interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.
Taylor & Francis Online Open Access
Taylor & Francis Group’s flourishing program of full open access journals enables you to make your research freely and permanently available so anyone, anywhere can read and build upon your work. Use the subject area filter below to explore our portfolio of fully open journals and find the best home for your research.