American Psychological Association (APA): Articles and other Short Work

If an article from the web or a database has no DOI, include the URL for the journal's home page.

A. Print

Ganegoda, D. B., & Bordia, P. (2019). I can be happy for you, but not all the time:

A contingency model of envy and positive empathy in the workplace.

Journal of Applied Psychology, 104(6), 776-795.

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Year. Article title. Journal title. Volume(Issue), Page(s).

B. Web

Bruns, A. (2019). The third shift: Multiple job holding and the incarceration of women's

partners. Social Science Research, 80(1), 202-215. https://doi.org/dfgj

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Year. Article title. Journal title. Volume(Issue), Page(s). DOI.

Vicary, A. M., & Larsen, A. (2018). Potential factors influencing attitudes toward

veterans who commit crimes: An experimental investigation of PTSD in the legal

system. Current Research in Social Psychology, 26(2). https://www.uiowa.edu/crisp

/sites/uiowa.edu.crisp/files/crisp_vol_26_2.pdf

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Year. Article title. Journal title. Volume(Issue), URL for article.

C. Database

Mafsir, S. (2019). Emotional change: Romantic love and the university in postcolonial

Egypt. Journal of Social History, 52(3), 831-859. https://doi.org/10.1093/

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Year. Article title. Journal title. Volume(Issue), Page(s). DOI.

If an article from the web has no DOI, use the URL for the magazine's home page. If an article from a database has no DOI, do not include a URL.

A. Print

Anderson, R. (2019, April). The intention machine: A new generation of brain-machine

interface can deduce what a person wants. Scientific American, 320(4), 24-31.

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Year. Article title. Journal title. Volume(Issue), Page(s).

B. Web

Srinivasan, D. (2019, June 4). How digital advertising markets really work. The American

Prospect. https://prospect.org/article/how-digital-advertising-markets-really-work

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Date of posting (when available). Article title. Magazine title. URL for article.

C. Database

Greengard, S. (2019, August). The algorithm that changed quantum machine learning.

Communications of the ACM, 62(8), 15-17. https://doi.org/10.1145/3339458

Key

All authors: last name + initial(s). Year + month (monthly magazine). Article title. Magazine title. Volume(Issue), Page(s). DOI.

A. Print

Finucane, M. (2019, September 25). Americans still eating too many low-quality carbs.

The Boston Globe, B2.

Key

Author. Year + month + day. Article title. Newspaper title. Page(s).

B. Web

Daly, J. (2019, August 2). Duquesne's med school plan part of national trend to train

more doctors. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. http://bit.ly/2CbUZ0X

Key

Author. Year + month + day. Article title. Newspaper title. Shortened URL.

Include the first twenty words of the comment, followed by the title of the source article in brackets.

lollyl2. (2019, September 25). My husband works IT in a major city down South. He

is a permanent employee now, but for years [Comment on the article "The Google

workers who voted to unionize in Pittsburgh are part of tech's huge contractor

workforce"]. Slate. https://fyre.it/0RT8Hmel

If an article on the web contains supplemental material that is is not part of the main article, cite the material as you would an article and add the label "Supplemental material" in brackets following the title.

Blasi, D. E., Moran, S., Moisik, S. R., Widmer, P., Dediu, D., & Bickel, B. (2019). Human

sound systems are shaped by post-Neolithic changes in bite configuration [Supplemental

material]. Science, 363(6432), https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aav3218

Insert the words "Letter to the editor" in brackets after the title of the letter. If the letter has no title, use the bracketed words as the tile as (as in the following example).

Doran, K. (2019, October 11). When the homeless look like grandma or grandpa [Letter

to the editor]. The New York Times. https//nyti.ms/33foD0K

Gavin Newsom wants to stop rent gouging. Will lawmakers finally stand up for tenants?

[Editorial]. (2019, September 4). Los Angeles Times. https://lat.ms/2lBlM1

Cite as you would an article in a magazine, giving whatever publication information is available. If it will not be clear that you are citing a newsletter, you may include the label "[Newsletter]" following the title.

Bond, G. (2018, Fall). Celebrities as epidemiologists. American College of Epidemiology

Online Member Newsletter. https://acepidemiology.org/assets/ACE_Newsletter_Fall_2018%20FINAL.pdf

In brackets, give the type of work reviewed, the title, and the director for a film or the author for a book. If the review has no author or title, use the description in brackets as the title.

Douthat, R. (2019, October 14). A hustle gone wrong [Review of the film Hustlers, by

L. Scafaria, Dir.]. National Review, 71(18), 47.

Hall, W. (2019) [Review of the book How to change your mind: The new science of

psychedelics, by M. Pollan]. Addiction, 114(10), 1892-1983. https://doi.org

/10.1111/add.14702

Remnick, D. (2019, July 1). Robert Caro reflects on Robert Moses, L.B.J., and his own

career in nonfiction. The New Yorker. https://bit.ly/2Lukm3X

When referencing on online, undated reference work entry, include the retrieval date. When referencing a work with archived versions, like Wikipedia, use the date and URL of the archived version you read.

A. Encyclopedia

Brue, A. W., & Wilmshurst, L. (2018). Adaptive behavior assessments. In B. B. Frey (Ed.),

The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation

(pp. 40-44). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781506326139.n21

B. Dictionary

Merriam-Webster. (n.d). Adscititious. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved

September 5, 2019, from https://merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

adscititious

C. Wikipedia

Behaviorism. (2019, October 11). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index

.php?title=Behavorism&oldid=915544724

Wood, M. (2019, January 3-6). The effects of an adult development course on students'

perceptions of aging [Poster session]. Forty-First Annual National Institute on

Teaching of Psychology. St. Pete Beach, FL. United States. https://nitop.org

/resources/documents/2019%20Poster%20Session%20II.pdf