Skip to Main Content

Encyclopedia of Alabama: Using Encyclopedia of Alabama

This guide will help you use Encyclopedia of Alabama database located in Alabama Virtual Library (AVL).

Logo of the Encyclopedia of Alabama [1024x448] : DesignPorn

Using Alabama Virtual Library

Articles can be accessed through Alabama Virtual Library. Below are the ways to access Alabama Virtual Library.

  • To access AVL on-campus, simply use any campus-based computer.
  • To access AVL off-campus, please fill out the online registration form to register for a username and password.*

    AVL Registration Form

 Any registration form received outside of the following hours will be processed the next business day. 

Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Friday 8:00 am - 2:30 pm

Sunday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

​* Note: Alabama Virtual Library will send you an email with your login information shortly. For immediate use, the library staff will email you temporary credentials to use. The temporary credentials will expire after two weeks.

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) resources are available to students on and off campus. Students enrolled in a collage or university cannot directly submit registration form to the Alabama Public Library System (APLS) for AVL access and passwords. To receive off campus access to AVL resources, you must complete a registration form through the CVCC library during the following hours:

Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Friday 8:00 am - 2:30 pm

Sunday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

The registration form for AVL access can be found on the LRC's webpage under library forms or use the following link: Alabama Virtual Library Registration Form.

If a form is submitted outside the above times, or during campus closures, the library staff will submit the form to the Alabama Virtual library the following business day. All requests to remote (off-campus) AVL access must be submitted by CVCC library staff.

NOTE: The APLS is responsible for maintaining the website, databases, and assigning passwords not CVCC. If there are delays in receiving passwords after the students have submitted the request form, or if there are problems logging onto the AVL website, student need to contact the Alabama Virtual Library's helpdesk at Alabama Virtual Library Helpdesk.

The CVCC Library

Hours of Operation
Monday

8:00am - 8:00pm
Tuesday

8:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday

8:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday

8:00am - 8:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 2:30pm
Saturday CLOSED
Sunday CLOSED
Holidays CLOSED

Check the NEWS AND MESSAGES section on the Home Tab of the library's online catalog for changes or additional closures or check the library's online calendar listed on our online catalog or our Owen Hall guide.

Using Encyclopedia of Alabama

To access EBSCOhost Search: 

From the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) Homepage, click “All Resources” at the top of the page.

Then scroll through the list and choose Encyclopedia of Alabama.

The homepage will open up and look like this:

This database is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment. It was developed by the Alabama Humanities Foundation and Auburn University with generous financial support from across the state. Auburn University hosts EOA's editorial office through the Office of University Outreach, in partnership with University Libraries and the Office of Information Technology.

You can search by keyword or phrase from the search box above or you can use any of the listed subject areas. For an example, I am going to search “Phenix City, AL.” The results page will look like this:

The blue hyperlinks will take you directly to the article. The title of the article and a brief snippet will be listed for each article.

The picture above shows how the article will appear in Encyclopedia of Alabama. The title of the article and author(s) will be listed at the top of the page. At the right are some tools that allows you to print, map, or share the article to various social media sites.

Also on the right side of the article, there may be further information that is related to the article such as related articles, external links, multimedia, and/or etc.

We hope that this tutorial will help you with your use of Encyclopedia of Alabama. If you have any questions, please ask us at the Access Services Desk inside the Owen Hall Library & Learning Resource Center or click on the Contact Us tab above.