Nursing: Online Resources

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

The Alabama Disabilities Advocacy Program (ADAP) is part of the nationwide federally mandated protection and advocacy (P&A) system.

Vision: Life free of diabetes and all its burdens

Mission: To prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes.

We lead the fight against the deadly consequences of diabetes and fight for those affected by diabetes.

We fund research to prevent, cure and manage diabetes.
We deliver services to hundreds of communities.
We provide objective and credible information.
We give voice to those denied their rights because of diabetes.

The American Heart Association is the world leader in CPR and Emergency Cardiovascular Care training and education. Their CPR & First Aid website allows users to find training opportunities, learn the science of resuscitation, and review AHA guidelines. Easy to understand fact sheets and infographics are located throughout the sections

This website is an online extension of Johnson & Johnson's Campaign for Nursing. It’s where nursing organizations, schools, hospitals and other healthcare groups share information and resources to help provide opportunities for students and nurses alike

Not everyone immediately thinks of the possible health concerns related to disasters, even if you are not injured. The Center for Disease Control’s (CDC) Center for Preparedness and Response has many resources related to public health. Their “Prepare Your Health” information is great for individuals looking to protect themselves and their family’s health after a disaster. From doctor’s contact information and current prescription lists to an extra pair of contacts, this source helps individuals analyze what they would need in their emergency kits. Since it is through the CDC, there are links throughout that lead to more detailed information on why certain items are important or the best ways to store them. The CDC website also has an extensive subsection on workplace safety and health. The site does not have navigation at the end of each page to go to the next, so remember to click through all subsites listed on the side panel to access all the information.

Health Finder is a government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.

website provides an independent, free and safe resource for ALL levels of nurses to assess, maintain and enhance their professional competence. The learning resources herein are suitable for nursing students, nursing assistants/aides, The Learning Nurse Resources Network is about informal nurse learning, continuing education and professional development. This Learning Nurse licensed practical nurses (LPN), registered nurses (RN), and registered psychiatric nurses (RPN), as well as nurse educators, trainers and instructors.
The Learning Nurse website is broken into three sections: Assessment, e-Learning, and the Library.

Created by nurses, for nurses, Lippincott NursingCenter.com is the premier online destination for peer-reviewed nursing journals and continuing education resources based on the best evidence available. A host of more than 70 nursing journals, Lippincott is committed to providing credible, current, authoritative, evidence-based resources to help you in your practice.

Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, whole-person care to everyone who needs healing. This website contains high quality and comprehensive medical information.

News, drug info, nurses resource center. Free registration required.

The Manuals aim to make the best current medical information accessible worldwide

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN), with the help of many experts within the nursing community, created the Learning Extension to help busy nursing students, nurses, and nurse educators meet their educational goals. Since 1998, the Learning Extension has reached 520,000 learners in 120 countries, and counting!

The National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA) is the largest nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting individuals and families affected by eating disorders. NEDA supports individuals and families affected by eating disorders, and serves as a catalyst for prevention, cures and access to quality care.

NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America’s Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]). The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health care professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.

The NLN is dedicated to excellence in nursing, and is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 40,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members. NLN members represent nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education, health care organizations, and agencies.

From caring for patients in critical care settings to teaching nursing classes in colleges or healthcare institutions, a background in nursing or nursing education can lead to a variety of careers. Whether you’re a current nurse seeking to become a nurse educator, a nursing student or just someone interested in nursing, you will find a lot of useful information in this guide. You’ll find everything from study and teaching resources to links for professional associations, blogs, podcasts and more. Use the 40+ links in this guide to enhance your career, boost your nursing studies or simply develop a deeper understanding of what it’s like to pursue or advance a career in the nursing or nursing education fields.

This website is a list of nursing calculators. Each calculator, along with examples and formulas, provides a unique way to review nursing math.

The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.

We’ll bet you’ve been a nurse long before anyone gave you a stethoscope. Nursing isn’t a career that ends when you leave your patients, and we know that you need a place to turn to for support and guidance, just as you’re there to help friends and family, too. At RNCentral.com, we’ll help you organize your career path in the health care field, whether you’re new to nursing, want a higher degree with greater job benefits and satisfaction, curious about a new medical specialty, or want to transition into a management or education role within nursing.

Use our site to explore flexible degree programs that allow you to continue to work or care for your family without losing momentum at school. Fast-track programs are available for students ready to start their careers, and graduate programs will train you in exciting specialties and for management work.

The Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository (Henderson Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses. It is an open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials. The repository is a resource of the honor society of nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International.

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.

Drugs.com provides free, accurate and independent advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.

Consumers can learn about their prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

The Manuals aim to make the best current medical information accessible worldwide

This website is a list of nursing calculators. Each calculator, along with examples and formulas, provides a unique way to review nursing math.

RX List is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Owned and Operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD network.

The organization is comprised of hospital-based, public service, military and private providers of both emergency and non-emergency patient air and ground transport.

The mission of the Alabama Board of Nursing is to safeguard and promote the health, safety and welfare of the public through licensing and approval of qualified individuals and adopting and enforcing legal standards for nursing education and nursing practice.

The association is dedicated to providing members with the knowledge and resources necessary to provide optimal care to critically ill patients.

A professional association representing more than 40,000 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) and student nurse anesthetists.

AAOHN is dedicated to advancing and maximizing the health, safety and productivity of domestic and global workforces by providing education, research, public policy and practice resources for occupational and environmental health nurses.

The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional association that represents certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) and certified midwives (CMs) in the United States. With roots dating to 1929, ACNM sets the standard for excellence in midwifery education and practice in the United States and strengthens the capacity of midwives in developing countries.

The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.

The National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurse Associations (NCEMNA) is a unified force advocating for equity and justice in nursing and health care for ethnic minority populations. Incorporated in 1998, NCEMNA is a tax exempt (IRS 501 (c) (3)) non-profit professional organization.