An online library catalog is an electronic bibliographic database that describes the books, videotapes, etc. carried by a particular library. The online library catalog evolved from a printed source, the library card catalog. To access the online catalog you will need to visit our Learning Resource Center webpage and clicking on Library Online Catalog under library forms on the left of the webpage.
The Online Catalog Homepage contains four tabs that can help jump start your research or point you in the direction of a great read. The "Home" tab gives you information such as News and Messages, Reminders and Sayings, Community Spotlight, Featured Books and Important Links. Click on the tab within this guide to get a closer look at these features.
The Search tab allows you to perform six different search queries; Combo, Advance, Community, Media, Book Lists, and Browse Collection.
Combo Search is a more straightforward form than Advanced Search. You are given fields for Author, Title, and Subject. Search terms can be entered in any or all of these fields.You can narrow your search by Author, Title, and Subject. The more specific your search the better your results.
By performing an Advance Search you can generate precise results. You can state your criteria and the Boolean operators that connect numerous search phrases.
A Community Search will connect you with people with similar interests as your own.
The Media Search can be performed with Keywords and Material Type, such as videos and CDs.
Your Book List is a quick link to book collections that the library staff, student body, and instructors compiled for educational, and entertainment purposes.
The Browse Collection search allows you to search by term and subject of collections that have been compiled by your peers, students, library staff or instructors.
Your "List" tab is your direct link to any public book collection compiled by other users that have been made public.
The "Links" tab is where you will find important links that can help jump start your next research paper, or team project.
|
The CVCC Library Hours of Operation |
|
|---|---|
| Monday |
8:00am - 8:00pm |
| Tuesday |
8:00am - 8:00pm |
| Wednesday |
8:00am - 8:00pm |
| Thursday |
8:00am - 8:00pm |
| Friday | 8:00am - 2:30pm |
| Saturday | CLOSED |
| Sunday | CLOSED |
| Holidays | CLOSED |
Check the NEWS AND MESSAGES section on the Home Tab of the library's online catalog for changes or additional closures or check the library's online calendar listed on our online catalog or our Owen Hall guide.