College Success: Home

This updated volume reflects the changes brought about by the computer revolution. It recognizes that how to study efficiently does not come naturally, and offers common sense advice that takes into account all the variables of student life.

ON COURSE: STRATEGIES FOR CREATING SUCCESS IN COLLEGE AND IN LIFE empowers students with the tools they need to take charge of their academic and lifelong success. Through distinctive guided journal entries, Skip Downing encourages students to explore and develop their personal responsibility, self-motivation, interdependence, and self-esteem, and to make wise choices that create successful results. "Wise Choices in College" sections in each chapter help students develop the study skills they need to excel in their other courses. The 7th edition features expanded coverage of diversity, emphasizing the many ways in which people are different and how these differences often influence the choices they make. Other new topics include a discussion of academic integrity, how to thrive in the college culture, and a research-based section on the importance of developing a growth mindset. Plus, a new Annotated Instructors Edition guides instructors to relevant exercises and materials in the ON COURSE FACILITATOR'S MANUAL. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.

Written by the leading authorities on the first-year seminar and grounded in research, Your College Experience offers students practical help in making the transition to college and getting the most out of their time there. Speaking with evident respect for students at all kinds of institutions, with all kinds of learning styles, and with all kinds of backgrounds, the authors ask them to consider their own goals, and their purposes for being in college.

Student Success in College describes policies, programs, and practices that a diverse set of institutions have used to enhance student achievement. This book clearly shows the benefits of student learning and educational effectiveness that can be realized when these conditions are present. Based on the Documenting Effective Educational Practice (DEEP) project from the Center for Postsecondary Research at Indiana University, this book provides concrete examples from twenty institutions that other colleges and universities can learn from and adapt to help create a success-oriented campus culture and learning environment.

This best-selling text presents new and returning college students with practical, hands-on strategies for increasing their performance inside and outside the classroom. Peak Performance helps students make the connection between their academic efforts and their job and life skills. Students learn a variety of personal productivity skills related to positive work and study habits, as well as creative problem-solving, organizational, and interpersonal skills. This new edition includes the latest issues affecting students, such as campus safety and changing technology. Also, more "how to" information gives students even more opportunity to put the material into practice. The revised design and new illustrations help visual learners understand key theories and concepts and provide more practical applications.

College Learning Strategies teaches the skills and strategies that will enable readers o become life-long learners capable of knowing how to approach new and difficult material in college and beyond. The skills taught in this book will serve readers well in the future in a variety of learning situations.College Learning Strategies is designed to engage readers in thought about their own learning and the important role they play in the learning process. Because effective learning is a complex process, the authors have based the book on the idea that there are four key factors that must interact for learning to occur: 1.The characteristics of the learner (motivation, interest, beliefs, etc); 2. The tasks that readers are asked to do (both the level of thinking required and type of assessment); 3. The strategies that readers must use (previewing, annotation, mapping, etc); and 4. The characteristics of the books with which readers interact (textbooks, lecture, internet, and other sources of information). For those interested in developing their study skills.

Practicing College Study Skills reflects the belief that students benefit from applied reinforcement of what they learn in the classroom. Students discover what works best for them through the explanation of principles, theories, and strategies and more than 125 hands-on learning activities.First day strategies and advice on obtaining technology survival tools added to the opening Survival Kit provide the most basic skills students need to be productive from day one.

The sixth edition helps students focus on practical strategies for CHANGE.  Those who can master change with a positive attitude take calculated risks and maintain an open mind will succeed.    Filled with inspiring stories and powerful activities, this motivating book teaches success through discovery, goal-setting and determination.  Cornerstone Concise utilizes SQ3R and Bloom's Taxonomy throughout, employing the reading and critical thinking strategies necessary for student achievement.  Thoroughly updated, it includes a new chapter on Interpersonal  Communication, and now extensively covers Information Literacy.  Also provides updated and expanded information on money and debt management and a stronger focus on self-engagement.  The chapter on Critical Thinking is brand new, empowering students to advance in the classroom and beyond.

Offers guidance to writing a research paper and discusses choosing a topic, finding sources, organizing material, drafting the paper, and preparing the final copy.

Designed for students at school, college or university, this indispensable guide to project work has now been fully up-dated and revised. In The Research Paper and How to Write It, Ralph Berry sets out in clear and concise terms the main tasks involved, in the order in which a student will encounter them: * choosing a topic * using the library * taking notes * shaping and composing the project * writing cross-references and bibliography. Starting from first principles, the author shows students how to get the most out of their library and guides them through the numerous cataloguing systems, including on-line databases, which they are likely to encounter. For handy reference, the book includes an example of a well-researched and well-written paper, with full bibliography and notes. Throughout, common errors and how to avoid them are discussed in detail. An essential introduction for students just starting project work and an invaluable reference for the more experienced.

All successful people are effective communicators. This series forms a complete set of how-to-references that gives young people a solid grounding and practical pointers in all areas of spoken and written communications.