Medical Assistant Technology: Online Resources

The AAMA provides the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.

The American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) is the leading voice and authority in health information, wherever it is found. Our people work at the intersection of healthcare, technology, and business.

Certifying health care professionals since 1939 - encouraging healthcare professionals to verify their skills and competence, learn and grow in their chosen profession, and maintain quality in the workplace.

The American Association of Medical Assistants flagship magazine.

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.

Drugs.com provides free, accurate and independent advice on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.

Consumers can learn about their prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

The Manuals aim to make the best current medical information accessible worldwide

This website is a list of nursing calculators. Each calculator, along with examples and formulas, provides a unique way to review nursing math.

RX List is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Owned and Operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD network.

WHO maintains information about mental disorders across the world. WHO has several projects they are currently working on to expand access to mental health care across the globe. The have a variety of fact sheets and data available on a number of mental disorders, including suicide. Their website is available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is tracks a wide range of diseases, and provides up-to-date information on them. This can be a good place to look for statistics.

This site from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides up-to-date authoritative information on a wide range of health issues and links to national advocacy and health groups related to specific diseases and conditions. Good for patient education information, but also useful for healthcare professionals.

News, drug info, nurses resource center. Free registration required.

A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
NIH is made up of 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems.

HelpGuide is a small independent nonprofit that runs one of the world’s leading mental health websites. Each month, millions of people from all around the world turn to HelpGuide for trustworthy content they can use to improve their mental health and make healthy changes.

An all-encompassing guide to understanding and managing stress from WebMD.

Testing.com is a health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care. Our goal is to help patients access reliable testing information so they can make informed decisions about their health.

Promoting free access to Medical Journals, this site gives links to over 2000 journals that allow free access to their articles. Most of the journals have an "embargo" period meaning CURRENT ISSUES ARE NOT FREE. Most of the embargos seem to be one year with the older issues being free.