Medical Assistant Technology: Home

Kaplan's Medical Assistant Exam Prep provides the in-depth content, comprehensive review, and targeted practice you need to pass the Certified Medical Assistant and Registered Medical Assistant exams. Whether you're a first-time test taker or you're studying for recertification, Kaplan's up-to-date content and proven test-taking strategies will help you face the exam with confidence. Kaplan is so certain that Medical Assistant Exam Prep offers all the knowledge you need to pass the exam that we guarantee it: After studying with the book, you'll score higher on your medical assistant exam--or you'll get your money back. Comprehensive Review Review of all tested subjects for the CMA and RMA exams Diagnostic test to help you target areas for score improvement and make the most of your study time Full-length practice test with 300 questions End-of-chapter quizzes with detailed answer explanations Case study-based practice questions to develop your critical thinking skills New discussions including: the medical assistant's role in emergency preparedness and the Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) model of care Updated discussions including: electronic health records (EHRs), personal health records (PHRs), and patient rights; guidelines for reporting healthcare data breaches; billing procedures; and day-to-day electronic communications in the medical office Expert Guidance Expert advice on building and maintaining professional credentials Updated career resources and a guide to the certification process We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for almost 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams.

Ideal for courses in nursing programs covering drug and/or drug administration. Also serves practicing nurses Monographs provide user-friendly "Cure" and "Care" organization to allow users to find must-know information quickly and easily Designed to focus on patient safety by calling out 'High Alert' drugs and using red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects Includes 1-year free access to Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, a database of over 5,000 drugs and FDA news alerts Canadian-specific content, including Canadian trade names and drugs specifically approved for use in Canada A wealth of online resources including an audio pronunciation library, calculators, and video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications

Color-coded, body-system organization. Supplemental categories on dermatologic conditions, mental health, and women's health. Card front--the name of the condition * pronunciation * a clue to its meaning or significance * and the icon representing the associated body system. Card back--description of the pathophysiology * assessment and diagnostic findings * complications * and the medical and surgical treatments. Memory aids on every card, including "Keep in Mind, "Make the Connection," and "Remember." Charts, tables, and photographs throughout. Comprehensive, alphabetical index.

The BLS for Healthcare Providers Course has been updated to reflect new science in the 2010 American Heart Association Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care. This video-based, Instructor-led course teaches both single-rescuer and team basic life support skills for application in both in- and out-of-hospital settings. This course trains participants to promptly recognize several life-threatening emergencies, give high-quality chest compressions, deliver appropriate ventilations and provide early use of an AED. It includes adult, child, and infant rescue techniques. This course also teaches relief of choking. BLS for Healthcare Providers teaches skills using the AHAs research-proven Practice-While-Watching technique, which allows Instructors to observe the students, provide feedback and guide the students acquisition of skills. The course uses a recommended ratio of 6 students to 2 manikins to 1 instructor.

A color-coded, body-system organization reflects the information common to classes of medications Each card features a single generic drug or a medication group, and details...action * use * pre-administration vital signs * laboratory data assessment * drug levels * patient teaching * and more "Make the Connection" areas that depict information crucial to safe medication and help to increase critical thinking skills and clinical applicability "Keep in Mind" sections that provide key nursing considerations and include client teaching Route/dosage information on the back of each card Common abbreviations appear on each card, with a summary of the abbreviations on separate, introductory cards A comprehensive alphabetical Index makes it easy to locate drugs within the deck by trade, generic, or Canadian brand name

Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It containsover 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.

Currently being processed

Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition! This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.

Put the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Plus, no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes. This 33rd edition proves once again why Mosby's is the bestselling drug reference for nurses on the market! Coverage of more than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs provides information for almost every drug a student is likely to encounter in clinicals. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. IV drug administration coverage in bold highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Logical, alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendices. NEW! 20-30 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! More than 20 new Evolve-only drug monographs added to the existing Evolve-only drug monographs. NEW! Numerous herbal drug monographs included on Evolve site.