Science: Online Resources

Anatomy Arcade makes basic human anatomy come ALIVE through awesome free flash games, interactives and videos.
Anatomy Arcade is perfect for the novice in the classroom, right through to students and professionals of health care looking for a fun way to revise and review.

A report from the World Health Organization.

A website on antibiotic-resistant bacteria from the Centers for Disease Control.

Environment search engine, with associated links, newsfeeds and blogs.

Encyclopedia of Earth, a new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.

The EOL dynamically synthesizes biodiversity knowledge about all known species, including their taxonomy, geographic distribution, collections, genetics, evolutionary history, morphology, behavior, ecological relationships, and importance for human well being, and distributes this information through the Internet.

An Online Examination of Human Anatomy and Physiology - Animated Text Narrations and Quizzes to Explain the Structures and Functions of the Human Body Systems

Explore over 8,600 free videos in 13 subject areas

A collection of news articles and web links related to microbiology research.

Science.gov offers 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information. Some of the resources need to be purchased through other sites.

Science News from a network of scientists and journalists in the fields of physics, medicine, and technology.

"Scitable is truly a well-designed, quite comprehensive resource that offers students and teachers alike a wealth of information, learning tools, and interactive activities on genetics, cell biology, and ecology, with a side order of scientific communication and career counseling.” - Choice

Answers to your questions about genes from the experts at the Stanford University Department of Genetics. Check out the video gallery and DNA roulette game.

ThoughtCo is a premier reference site with a 20+ year focus on expert-created education content. Explore the science of life by learning about the systems and structures that make up the organisms of our world. Includes sample lab report format on the "Experiments/Lab"--> Lab page.

AIBS builds community in support of researchers, educators, and scientists who understand the importance of sharing biological discovery and knowledge.

The Society's mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes through: publication of scientific & educational journals; organization of scientific meetings; advocacy for funding of basic research & education; support of science education at all levels; and promoting the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce. The American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (ASBMB) is a nonprofit scientific & educational organization with over 12,000 members.

An open-access chemistry journal published by the American Chemical Society. Articles are free to download and read in PDF format.

The Chemical Education Digital Library (ChemEd DL) is a storehouse of tested digital resources for education in the chemical sciences. Our aim is to be the place on the Web where you can contribute, share, organize, and use high quality chemistry education materials.

Interactive 3D animations for some of the most important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree.

Explore over 8,600 free videos in 13 subject areas

Science.gov offers 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information. Some of the resources need to be purchased through other sites.

For more than 140 years, we have been improving people's lives through the transforming power of chemistry. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.

The Society's mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes through: publication of scientific & educational journals; organization of scientific meetings; advocacy for funding of basic research & education; support of science education at all levels; and promoting the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce. The American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (ASBMB) is a nonprofit scientific & educational organization with over 12,000 members.

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), founded in 1944 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, is the largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.

The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

This tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn how parts of medical words are put together. You'll also find quizzes to check what you've learned.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is tracks a wide range of diseases, and provides up-to-date information on them. This can be a good place to look for statistics.

This site has brief patient-focused descriptions of diseases, along with possible treatment options.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it presents information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Utilize MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

Over 30,000 searchable digital books and other items related to medicine. A great place to look for old illustrations.

The National Library of medicine provides access to many of their resources on the history of medicine, including books, films, photographs, and more.