Science: Home

Two volume set

From the classic work of Darwin to current developments in such fields as psychology and economics, evolutionary biology is an increasingly powerful tool for understanding the natural world. Here in two volumes is a comprehensive, accessible, and authoritative guide to what we know aboutevolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond. The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more. The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and otherillustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index. Designed for students and teachers in both high schools and colleges and universities, and scholars and scientists in the natural and social sciences, the Encyclopedia of Evolution will be the first point of access to this growing body of knowledge.

Among the topics covered are: • Alkaline Earth Metals • Bromides • Carbides • Dehydration • Element • Flourescence • Group V Elements • Helium • Ion • The Law of Multiple Proportions • Molecule • Potassium Nitrate. Biographies include: • Archimedes • George Wells Beadle • Robert Wilhelm Bunsen • Marie Curie • Louis Jacques Mande Daguerre • Thomas Edison • Epicurus • Benjamin Franklin • Alfred Bernhard Nobel • Louis Pasteur • Joseph Louis Proust • Karl Ziegler. Tables

Among the topics covered are: • Acceleration • Ballistics • Boiling Point • Catalyst • Data Communications • Electrolyte • Frequency Modulation • Gamma Radiation • Inertia • Prism • Relative Atomic Mass • Transverse Waves • White Dwarf • X-rays. Biographies include: • Alexander Graham Bell • Arthur Holly Compton • Pierre Curie • Sir James Dewar • Christian Doppler • Albert Einstein • Euclid • Gabriel Daniel Fahrenheit • Hans William Geiger • Stephen Hawking • Pythagoras. Tables

The latest edition of the world's most popular scientific reference features tables and reference sections on everything from the Periodic Table to the bond lengths in organometallic compounds. Featuring the latest facts and figures, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains all the most frequently used data in science. Topics new in the 82nd edition: Redox data on biochemical compounds Surface tension of common compounds with water as a function of concentration Viscosity of carbon dioxide Optical properties of materials such as binary semiconductors Interstellar molecules Radio frequency allocations Tables updated in the 82nd edition: Physical Constants of Inorganic Compounds-expanded by 15% Critical temperatures and pressures of fluids Solubility of organic compounds in water Atomic weights and natural abundances of isotopes-latest official recommendation from IUPAC Polymer nomenclature Threshold limits for airborne pollutants Chemical carcinogens

Oxidizing and Reducing Agents S. D. Burke University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA R. L. Danheiser Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA Recognising the critical need for bringing a handy reference work that deals with the most popular reagents in synthesis to the laboratory of practising organic chemists, the Editors of the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS) have selected the most important and useful reagents employed in contemporary organic synthesis. Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis: Oxidizing and Reducing Agents, provides the synthetic chemist with a convenient compendium of information concentrating on the most important and frequently employed reagents for the oxidation and reduction of organic compounds, extracted and updated from EROS. The inclusion of a bibliography of reviews and monographs, a compilation of Organic Syntheses procedures with tested experimental details and references to oxidizing and reducing agents will ensure that this handbook is both comprehensive and convenient.