Skip to Main Content

U.S. Vice Presidents: Alabama Virtual Library

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)

Using AVL

Using Alabama Virtual Library

Articles can be accessed through Alabama Virtual Library. Below are the ways to access Alabama Virtual Library.

  • To access AVL on-campus, simply use any campus-based computer.
  • To access AVL off-campus, please fill out the online registration form to register for a username and password.*

    AVL Registration Form

 Any registration form received outside of the following hours will be processed the next business day. 

Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Friday 8:00 am - 2:30 pm

Sunday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

​* Note: Alabama Virtual Library will send you an email with your login information shortly. For immediate use, the library staff will email you temporary credentials to use. The temporary credentials will expire after two weeks.

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) resources are available to students on and off campus. Students enrolled in a collage or university cannot directly submit registration form to the Alabama Public Library System (APLS) for AVL access and passwords. To receive off campus access to AVL resources, you must complete a registration form through the CVCC library during the following hours:

Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Friday 8:00 am - 2:30 pm

Sunday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

The registration form for AVL access can be found on the LRC's webpage under library forms or use the following link: Alabama Virtual Library Registration Form.

If a form is submitted outside the above times, or during campus closures, the library staff will submit the form to the Alabama Virtual library the following business day. All requests to remote (off-campus) AVL access must be submitted by CVCC library staff.

NOTE: The APLS is responsible for maintaining the website, databases, and assigning passwords not CVCC. If there are delays in receiving passwords after the students have submitted the request form, or if there are problems logging onto the AVL website, student need to contact the Alabama Virtual Library's helpdesk at Alabama Virtual Library Helpdesk.

AVL Registration

April 21, 1789 - March 4, 1797

John Adams

  • John Adams
    • Book Colelction: Nonfiction (2003)
    • History Reference Center (2003)
  • John Adams: Public Servant
    • ​History Reference Center (2001)
  • John Adams (The United States Presidents) 
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2009)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2009)

March 4, 1833 – March 4, 1837

Martin Van Buren

  • Martin Van Buren and the American Political System
    • eBook Academic Collection (1984)
    • EBSCO eBooks (1984)
  • Martin Van Buren (The United States Presidents)
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2009)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2009)
    • MAS Reference eBook Collection (2013)
  • Martin Van Buren
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2017)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2017)

March 4, 1881 – September 19, 1881

Chester A. Arthur

  • Chester Alan Arthur
    • History Reference Center (2003)
  • Chester Arthur (The United States Presidents)
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2009)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2009)

January 20, 1953 – January 20, 1961

Richard M. Nixon

  • Richard M. Nixon: In the Arena, From Valley to Mountaintop
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2014)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2014)
  • Exchange of Letters Between Richard M. Nixon & Ho Chi Minh
    • 2017
      • Academic Search Premier
      • Academic Search Ultimate
      • History Reference Center
      • MAS Ultra - School Edition
      • MasterFILE Complete
      • MasterFILE Premier
      • Middle Search Plus
      • Military & Government Collection
      • Points of View Reference Center
      • Primary Search
  • Healing Richard Nixon: A Doctor's Memoir
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2015)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2015)

January 20, 1981 – January 20, 1989

George H. W. Bush

  • George H. W. Bush
    • History Reference Center (2002)
    • Points of View Reference Center (2002)
  • George H. W. Bush's Healthy Forests: Reframing the Environmental Debate
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2005)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2005)
  • 41: Inside the Presidency of George H. W. Bush
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2014)
    • eBook High School Collection (2014)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2014)
    • MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (2014)

March 4, 1797 - March 4, 1801

Thomas Jefferson

  • Thomas Jefferson
    • EBSCO eBooks (2015)
    • MAS Reference eBook Collection (2015)
  • Thomas Jefferson: A Life of Patriotism
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2008)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2008)
  • Thomas Jefferson and Executive Power
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2007)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2007)

March 4, 1841 – April 4, 1841

John Tyler

  • The Republican Vision of John Tyler
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2003)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2003)
  • John Tyler, the Accidental President
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2012)
    • eBook High School Collection (2012)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2012)
  • John Tyler
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2003)

March 4, 1901 – September 14, 1901

Theodore Roosevelt

  • Theodore Roosevelt: Bear of a President
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2007)
  • Theodore Roosevelt & His Times
    • History Reference Center (2006)
  • Theodore Roosevelt: Preacher of Righteousness
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2008)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2008)

January 20, 1961 – November 22, 1963

Lyndon B. Johnson

  • Lyndon B. Johnson: Portrait of a President
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2004)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2004)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson: Un Texano en la Casa Blanca (Lyndon B. Johnson: A Texan in the White House)
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2013)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2013)
  • Great Society: The Story of Lyndon Baines Johnson
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2002)
    • History Reference Center (2002)

January 20, 1993 – January 20, 2001

Al Gore

  • Al Gore
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2020)
    • History Reference Center (2020)
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition (2020)
    • MasterFILE Premier (2020)
    • Points of View Reference Center (2020)
    • Primary Search (2020)

March 4, 1801 - March 4, 1805

Aaron Burr

  • Aaron Burr
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2017)
    • History Reference Center (2017)
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition (2017)
    • MasterFILE Premier (2017)
    • Middle Search Plus (2017)
    • Primary Search (2017)

March 4, 1849 – July 9, 1850

Millard Fillmore

  • Millard Fillmore (The United States Presidents)
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2003)
    • eBook K-8 Collection (North America - 2009)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2009)
  • Millard Fillmore: The Limits of Compromise
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2013)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2013)

March 4, 1921 – August 2, 1923

Calvin Coolidge

  • Calvin Coolidge (United States Presidents)
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2003)
  • Calvin Coolidge: Inaugural Address
    • 08/01/2017 - present
      • Academic Search Premier
      • Academic Search Ultimate
      • History Reference Center
      • MAS Ultra - School Edition
      • MasterFILE Complete
      • MaterFILE Premier
      • Middle Search Plus
      • Military & Government Collection
      • Points of View Reference Center
      • Primary Search
  • Calvin Coolidge: Conservative Icon
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2013)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2013)

January 20, 1969 – October 10, 1973

Spiro Agnew

  • Republican Populist: Spiro Agnew and the Origins of Donald Trump's America
    • EBSCO eBooks (2019)
    • MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (2019)

January 20, 2001 – January 20, 2009

Dick Cheney

  • Dick Cheney
    • Book collection: Nonfiction (2005)
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition (2005)
    • MasterFILE Premier (2005)
    • Middle Search Plus (2005)
    • Points of View Reference Center (2005)
    • Primary Search (2005)

March 4, 1825 – December 28, 1832

John C. Calhoun

  • John Calhoun
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2017)
    • History Reference Center (2017)
    • MAS Ultra - School Edition (2017)
    • MasterFILE Premier (2017)
    • Middle Search Plus (2017)
    • Primary Search (2017)

March 4, 1865 – April 15, 1865

Andrew Johnson

  • History of the Impeachment of Andrew Johnson, President of the United States
    • History Reference Center (1896)
  • Andrew Johnson's Civil War and Reconstruction
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2011)
    • eBook High School Collection (2011)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2011)
  • In the Shadow of the Great Rebellion: The Life of Andrew Johnson, Seventeenth President of the United States (1808-1875)
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2009)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2009)

January 20, 1945 – April 12, 1945

Harry S. Truman

  • Northeast Asia and the Legacy of Harry S. Truman: Japan, China, and the Two Koreas
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2012)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2012)
  • A Cross of Iron: Harry S. Truman and the Origins of the National Security State, 1945-1954
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 1998)
    • EBSCO eBooks (1998)
  • Native Americans and the Legacy of Harry S. Truman
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2010)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2010)

December 6, 1973 – August 9, 1974

Gerald R. Ford

  • Gerald R. Ford
    • Book Collection: Nonfiction (2003)
  • Gerald R. Ford (Presidential Leaders)
    • eBook K-8 Collection (2007)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2007)
  • Gerald R. Ford: The All-American President
    • eBook Academic Collection (North America - 2011)
    • EBSCO eBooks (2011)