Study Guides: Applied Technology

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace the Major HVAC Licensing Exams! Featuring more than 800 accurate practice questions and answers, HVAC Licensing Study Guide, Third Edition, provides everything you need to prepare for and pass the major HVAC licensing exams. This highly-effective, career-building study resource is filled with essential calculations, troubleshooting tips for the job site, hundreds of detailed illustrations, and information on the latest codes and standards. You will get brand-new coverage of troubleshooting for small motors and electrical equipment for HVAC.  This thoroughly revised study guide helps you: * Master the material most likely to appear on the ARI, NATE, ICE, RSES, and HVAC licensing exams  * Improve your test-taking ability with 800+ true-false and multiple-choice questions and answers  * Learn about current refrigerant usage and regulations  * Keep up with the most recent codes and standards  * Acquire the confidence, skills, and knowledge needed to pass your exam Covers key HVAC topics, including: * Heat sources  * Heating systems  * Boilers, burners, and burner systems  * Piping systems  * Ductwork sizing  * Refrigerants  * Cooling and distribution systems  * Refrigeration equipment and processes  * Filters and air flow  * Maintenance, servicing, and safety  * Humidification, dehumidification, and psychrometrics  * EPA-refrigerant reclaimers  * Heating circuits  * Safety on the job  * Trade associations and codes * Troubleshooting for small motors * Electrical equipment for HVAC

A guide to passing the EPA 608 refrigeration exam, including the Core, Type I, Type II, Type III, and universal exams. Also includes practice questions that have been known to be on the test. Setup to be a guide to help HVAC technicians or anyone who needs to pass the EPA 608 refrigeration exam.

A comprehensive, visual handbook for welding in the farm, home workshop, school workshop, blacksmith shop, or auto shop. Almost anyone can weld, cut, or shape metal. That's the starting point for this supremely practical book which helps the beginner to improve and the intermediate operator to broaden their technique. Its detailed sections describe all the major types of welds before progressing into trickier methods. With this comprehensive guide, you'll understand everything you need to know, from arc, TIG, MIG, and gas welding to plasma cutting, soldering, welding plastic, and more. Beyond welding metals and plastics, advice extends into the wider workshop with chapters on drills, cutting threads, and basic blacksmithing. Filled with helpful visuals and photography, detailed explanations, expert suggestions, and step-by-step directions, author and experienced welding instructor Andrew Pearce also lays out common pitfalls and mistakes, and how to avoid or correct them. New, updated edition will include brand new chapters on general welding skills and understanding metals, expanded information on abrasives, and four new step-by-step projects and plans, including a steel table, fire pit, welding cart, and more.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Get Everything You Need to Help You Pass the Certified Welding Exams on the First Try! The Welding Licensing Exam Study Guide contains everything needed to pass the Welding Code Book and Fundamentals exams with flying colors. This career-building resource includes calculations and troubleshooting tips that equip you with the skills, knowledge, and confidence required to ace these certification tests. The Welding Licensing Exam Study Guide features: Over 850 exam-style multiple choice and true/false questions & answers Numerous welding calculations and troubleshooting tips More than 200 detailed drawings and illustrations In-depth coverage of welding tools and their use The latest welding safety procedures Guidance on studying welding methods SI and English units for all problems and equations Improve Your Grasp of Every Welding Exam Topic * Welding and Cutting Processes: Oxyacetylene Welding and Cutting * Shielded Metal Arc Welding * Flux Cored Arc Welding * Gas Metal Arc Welding * Gas Tungsten Arc Welding * Plasma Arc Welding and Cutting * Braze Welding * Brazing * Soldering * Metals and Metal Alloys: Cast Iron * Wrought Iron * Carbon Steels * Low and High Alloy Steels * Refractory and Reactive Metals * Galvanized Metals * Aluminum * Copper * Nickel * Magnesium * Lead, Tin, and Zinc * Tool and Die Steels * Hardfacing * Joints and Welds: Types of Joints * Welding Positions * Types of Welds * Weld Terminology * Welding Symbols * Common Welding Problems * Tips for Producing Good Welds * And Much More!